HomeWhat is Western Southland?PlacesTrailsEventsAccommodationThings to DoUser LoginUser Login
 
Home > Business > View Entity
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

Click on any photo to show an enlarged version.

Contact number: +64
Alternative contact number: +64

Address: Cnr High St East & Wamphray St

 
 
Sinclair Miners Cottage
 

Visitors wanting to see inside the Sinclair Miners Cottage can obtain a key from Nightcaps Trading Post

Built about 1905 and owned by the Sinclair family from 1930, this miner's cottage was gifted by that family to the Takitimu Heritage Trust for restoration in 1998.

Typically miners would wash away the grime from the day in a tin tub using water heated in the kitchen on a coal-fired range.

For all its smallness early mining families would have been thankful to live in such a cottage. The first pioneering families were housed in tents and sod huts in a rather "bracing" climate.

Residents in the cottage had a regular reminder of why the town got its internationally unique name. (It is the only town named Nightcaps in the world). Apparently an early visitor saw prominent hills to the north topped with snow and remarked that they had their "night caps" on.

Directly to the west of this cottage is the former St Columba's Presbyterian Church. Opened in 1899, it was converted into a temporary hospital to cope with the many Nightcaps people who fell ill during the 1918 Spanish influenza epidemic. Over 50 people died - more than the number of deaths from local mine accidents.

Nearby is the former Winton courthouse. It was shifted to Nightcaps in 1959 and first used as the Anglican Church and now as a museum.

 

 

All content (except where stated) copyright (c) WSPAI. Design and build by NZTRI.
View our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy.